Museum Matinee: South Carolina Hall of Fame Inductees from Civil War & Reconstruction Era

Aug 10, 2022

  • Venue: Horry County Museum
  • Address: 805 Main Street,, Conway, SC
  • Time: 1:00 PM

The 2022 Horry County Museum Documentary Film Series continues with a documentary by South Carolina ETV on inductees from the Civil War & Reconstruction Era into the South Carolina Hall of Fame. Established in 1973, The South Carolina Hall of Fame, located in Myrtle Beach, inducts one deceased and one contemporary honoree each year. It is by law the “official” Hall of Fame for South Carolina. There are nearly 100 members of the South Carolina Hall of Fame, each of whom has made outstanding contributions to South Carolina’s heritage, history, and progress.
Biographies of Civil War & Reconstruction era inductees include John C. Calhoun, James Petigru, Wade Hampton, Mary Chestnut, Robert Smalls, Thomas Green Clemson, William Walker, James Marion Sims, and Anne Pamela Cunningham. The film is free to the public and will be shown at 1:00 PM, Wednesday, August 10th, at the Horry County Museum, located at 805 Main Street in Conway.