MYRTLE BEACH, S.C. - The Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce's nine-month leadership program, Leadership Grand Strand, is excited to announce the 2015 Annual Ann DeBock Leadership Award will be presented to Lt. John Bertang, with the Myrtle Beach Police Department. The award will be presented at the Ann DeBock Leadership Award Alumni Association Social at the Dunes Golf and Beach Club on Tuesday, May 12.

Each year, the Leadership Grand Strand class honors one alumnus who has exhibited outstanding leadership and service. To receive this award, the recipient must volunteer in service or civic roles, serve on appointed boards or commissions, and exhibit an overall demonstration of effective leadership skills.

The 2015 award winner received his undergraduate degree at Trenton State College, which is now The College of New Jersey. Lt. Bertang majored in criminal law and justice and minored in motivational psychology and sociology.

After moving to Myrtle Beach in 1996, Lt. Bertang was hired by the City of Myrtle Beach Police Department. Nineteen years later, he finds himself overseeing 61 officers.

While serving as a police officer, Lt. Bertang also earned a Master's Degree through Webster University in management and human resources development. He graduated with 4.0 GPA while working full time with the Myrtle Beach Police Department.

Lt. Bertang is a graduate of Leadership Grand Strand. When not working, he can often be found volunteering at the Rape Crisis Center, Celebrate Recovery, the Red Cross, the Humane Society and Beach Church.

"In his dedication to the mission of this agency, he has been there for our staff and volunteers, at every fundraiser, every awareness event, every volunteer recognition and remains supportive and committed to our staff and volunteers to this day," said Joyce Hart, executive director of the Rape Crisis Center.

The Ann DeBock Leadership Award was commissioned and started by Class XIX in memory of Ann DeBock, the executive director of Leadership Grand Strand from its inception in 1979 until her death in 1998.

For more information, visit or call (843) 916-7222.